GOVERNMENT OF MEGHALAYA HOME (POLICE) DEPARTMENT

NOTIFICATION

No.HPL. 218/2007/9

Dated Shillong, the 15th January, 2008

On the recommendation of the Committee on Police Reform constituted by the Government of Meghalaya vide Notification No.HPL.181/2003/100 dated 17.1.2007, a Medico Legal Advisory Committee is hereby constituted with the following members with immediate effect with a view to strengthen criminal justice system in terms of timely rendering of proper aid in medico legal services to the investigation of crime and its due prosecution in courts of law:

1. Deputy Commissioner

Chairman

2. District Superintendent of Police

Member Secretary

3. District Medical and Health Officer

Member.

The Chairman may co-opt Director, Forensic Science Laboratory, Meghalaya, Shillong or his representative as member of the committee, in case of requirement.

The following shall be the terms of reference of the Committee:

- i. to review the cases under investigation which are pending due to non submission or delayed submission of medical and postmortem reports and issue necessary instructions to the department concerned to expedite the reports within a fixed time frame. The committee may also fix a time frame for submission of the following reports:
 - (a) Injury Report
 - (b) Postmortem Report
 - (c) Medical examination report of accused persons
- ii to resolve the differences of opinion, if any, between the Medico Legal professionals and forensic experts;
- iii.to oversee that the medico legal experts eschew any tendency to reserve their opinion as to the cause of death etc., pending receipt of the reports of FSLs on toxicological examination even in cases where it is possible for them to give a definite opinion about the cause of death.
- iv. To make adequate arrangement for availability of medical experts for rendering medico legal services as per the legal requirements.
- v. Any other matter which the members of committee deemed fit in the interest of strengthening of Criminal Justice System.



(W.M.S.Pariat)
Additional Chief Secretary to the Govt. of Meghalaya,

Contd.....2/-....